So My Buddy has a Band!


He was perhaps among the top 5 “most-likely-has-no-clue-what-he’ll-do-after-college” persons in a select group of “people” in the final year of graduation. Although others had written him off (don’t deny it you jerks) we were rather concerned about his future. Yet somewhere we had a knowing he’d come up with a surprise at some stage.

It’s now been 10 years since I graduated from college in Mumbai and in the last 2-3 years Frank Pawar has gathered an enviable fan following for his band, Devoid and himself. A hardcore trash metal band, a genre most bands would shy away from on the rather niche metal scene in Mumbai (or all of India for that matter), Devoid has recently launched their first ever album – A God’s Lie – which was well received by their fans and my grandma!

Beer Song” and “Battlecry” are my favourites. Its true for the rest of the album as well, yet these two really help in sending across a “i really don’t give a rat’s ass” message. (Maybe, you could try that on your boss!)

Devoid (India)” is easily searchable on youtube and have their own fan page on FB. From what I know, Frank and other band members screen through each friend request and ask a set of qualifying questions before accepting your friend request, so it’d do good to actually listen to their songs first!!

Disclaimer: I am not promoting Devoid (that’s their manager’s job) neither am I getting paid for this (I could try and change that!). I’m merely appreciating what my best buddy has achieved over the last few years and kudos to the band for sticking together this long. It only gets better, \m/ boys!

Devoid’s “A God’s Lie” Album Launch – 1st Leg Bangalore, Sept 2010

Photos

Tags: , , , , , ,

About Archan B

I read. I write. I am literate. And I wish there were more literate people in the world who could then express themselves in beautiful words of prose and poetry.

2 responses to “So My Buddy has a Band!”

  1. Arun Iyer says :

    Thanks for all the kind words Archan! “Frank and other band members screen through each friend request and ask a set of qualifying questions before accepting your friend request, so it’d do good to actually listen to their songs first!!” this has to be the pick of the lines for me hahah. Can’t wait to catch you soon bro. Also saprem namaskar to your grandma! 🙂

Leave a Reply

